About MAC

Mineralogical Association of Canada (MAC) was formed in 1955 as a non-profit scientific organization to promote and advance the knowledge of mineralogy and the allied disciplines of crystallography, petrology, geochemistry and mineral deposits.

Collapsible content

What we do at MAC...

MAC has a commitment to further public awareness of mineral sciences and promote excellence by giving out several medals and awards; two yearly scholarships of $5000, one to a MSc student and one to a PhD student; Travel and Research grants to assist honours undergraduate and graduate students in the mineral sciences; and the top student in introductory mineralogy course at each Canadian university can be nominated to receive the annual MAC Undergraduate Student Award.

Through annual meetings, short courses, publications and sponsored symposia, the Association provides a forum for the presentation and dissemination of current knowledge and advances to the worldwide community of earth scientists.

  • Dan Marshall - President

    Professor Emeritus - Earth Sciences | Simon Fraser University

    8888 University Dr
    Burnaby, BC  V5A 1S6
    Phone: 778-782-5474
    Fax: 778-782-4198
    Email: marshall@sfu.ca


  • Frederick Ford - Vice President

    Principal Mineralogist - Vale Canada Ltd.
    Base Metals Process | Technology and Innovation
    2060 Flavelle Blvd.
    Sheridan Park
    Mississauga, Ontario L5K 1Z9


  • Andrew Conly - Past President

    Associate Professor - Department of Geology | Lakehead University

    955 Oliver Road
    Thunder Bay, ON P7B 5E
    Phone: 1 807-343-8010 - ext. 8463
    Email: aconly@lakeheadu.ca


  • Rémy S. Poulin - Treasurer

    Dép. des Sciences Appliquées | Université du Québec à Chicoutimi
    555, boul. de l’Université
    Chicoutimi, QC, G7H 2B1
    Phone: 705-675-1151 ext 6575
    Email: ry_poulin@laurentian.ca

  • Benjamin Williams - Secretary

    Project Geologist

    Transition Metals Corp

    407 Cartier Avenue #3

    Greater Sudbury Ontario P3B 1C7

    Email: bwilliams@transitionmetalscorp.com

    Phone:  705-669-1777 ext 204

  • Dr. Brian O’Driscoll - Councilor

    to May 2027

    Professor and Newmont Chair in Economic Geology
    Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
    The University of Ottawa
    Ottawa, ON Canada
    Phone: (+1) 613-562-5800 ext. 6764

    Email: brian.odriscoll@uottawa.ca

  • Jacob Hanley - Councilor

    to May 2027

    Full Professor, Department of Geology

    Saint Mary's University

    923 Robie St

    Halifax, NS

    B3H 3C3

    Email: jacob.hanley@smu.ca

  • Tania Martins - Councilor

    to May 2026

    Acting Chief Geologist Precambrian Geoscience section Manitoba

    Geological Survey
    360-1395 Ellice Avenue
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    R3G 3P2 Canada

    Telephone: 204-945-0661
    Fax: 204-945-1406
    Email: tania.martins@gov.mb.ca

  • Matthew Steele-MacInnis - Councilor

    to May 2026

    Professor, Faculty of Science - Earth & Atmospheric Sciences

    University of Alberta

    1-26 Earth Sciences Building Room: ESB 4-06
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T6G 2E3 Canada

    Phone: 780-492-7906

    Email: steelema@ualberta.ca

  • Matt Lindsay - Councilor

    to May 2025

    Associate Professor, NSERC Industrial Research Chair in Mine Closure
    Geochemistry Department of Geological Sciences | University of Saskatchewan

    114 Science Place

    Department of Geological Sciences

    Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

    S7N 5E2

    Email: matt.lindsay@usask.ca

  • Chris Beckett-Brown - Councilor

    to May 2025

    Surficial Geochemist, Ontario Geological Survey

    Ministry of Mines

    933 Ramsey Lake Road
    Willet Green Miller Center
    Sudbury ON, P3E 6B5

    Email: cbeckettbrown@gmail.com